I got some new headphones

Got Problems or Advice post here. Want to show off your PC bling?
PC, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, Electronics.
Post Reply
User avatar
PRETENDICA
Manager
Posts: 818
Joined: June 26th, 2009, 8:48 am
Ingame Name: [ATG] PRETENDICA
SteamID: STEAM:0:0:17130959
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska

I got some new headphones

Post by PRETENDICA » January 5th, 2010, 9:59 pm

http://www.roccat.org/Products/Gaming-S ... CCAT-Kave/

I took Stephen's wish list. I spent my drug money earnings on these babys. It's a sellers market. They give my face an orgasm.
Image <---Thanks, Tahko!
User avatar
Stephen
Founder
Posts: 1646
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 12:35 am
Ingame Name: [ATG] ﯖҭϵҏӊϵɳ
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:8566258

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by Stephen » January 5th, 2010, 10:04 pm

you got them now?
User avatar
Magus
Manager
Posts: 1003
Joined: August 12th, 2009, 9:44 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG] Mäġůş
SteamID: STEAM_0:0:17489579
Location: WI

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by Magus » January 5th, 2010, 11:15 pm

I am extremely jealous.

Is my conversion wrong, or are those about 180 USD?
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
PRETENDICA
Manager
Posts: 818
Joined: June 26th, 2009, 8:48 am
Ingame Name: [ATG] PRETENDICA
SteamID: STEAM:0:0:17130959
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by PRETENDICA » January 6th, 2010, 12:18 am

Yeah Stephen, they overnighted them from Great Britain(well, I ordered them Saturday night after playing all day on my shitty $25 Fatality kids headset. So they didn't mail them until Monday.) I got them here: http://www.medusa-usa.com/roccat-kave-s ... p-967.html
The Fatality ones were just too small for my head. I have a large head, I wear a large in hat size, I knew right away from seeing them in the box they'd be too small. These are much larger, and the cones cover my whole ear.
It was a little under 150.00 with the shipping. They are pretty snazzy. They feel like when the seal the airplane shut, and you're up in the air. All you hear is the weird humm from the engines. Am I hearing my processor count zeros and ones?
Image <---Thanks, Tahko!
User avatar
SirDumpling
Admin
Posts: 227
Joined: July 1st, 2009, 5:42 am
Ingame Name: Dragoon
SteamID: STEAM:0:0:00000

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by SirDumpling » January 6th, 2010, 3:41 am

Nice, pretendica
I recently ordered these.
Pricematched to 80 bucks, canadian, down from 80 euros lol (total was 104 CAD with shipping and whatnot)

Really jealous of yours though, lol. Look very comfy, and comes with a remote!
User avatar
PRETENDICA
Manager
Posts: 818
Joined: June 26th, 2009, 8:48 am
Ingame Name: [ATG] PRETENDICA
SteamID: STEAM:0:0:17130959
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by PRETENDICA » January 6th, 2010, 4:48 am

Tell me how those work. I've got a pretty good ear... But somehow I think a really good stereo headset would be just as good as these. Like Tx uses. A really good headset.


The mic lights up blu when it's muted. Neato!
Image <---Thanks, Tahko!
User avatar
J-Tins
Admin
Posts: 134
Joined: September 29th, 2009, 12:01 am
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by J-Tins » January 6th, 2010, 10:20 am

I wanted to get those, but then I heard they amplify the bass when you play music like those Dr.Dre headphones. I have a huge problem with that. They're probably really good for gaming though.
"I never just did things just to do them. Come on, what am I gonna do? Just all of a sudden jump up and grind my feet on somebody's couch like it's something to do? Come on. I got a little more sense then that...Yeah, I remember grindin my feet on Eddie's couch." -RJ
User avatar
Stephen
Founder
Posts: 1646
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 12:35 am
Ingame Name: [ATG] ﯖҭϵҏӊϵɳ
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:8566258

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by Stephen » January 6th, 2010, 1:20 pm

you can turn down the bass no problem

you coulda ordered them through http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/index.php

do you have ethem hooked up to 5.1 sounnd card, and have in tf2 in audio set to 5.1?
User avatar
PRETENDICA
Manager
Posts: 818
Joined: June 26th, 2009, 8:48 am
Ingame Name: [ATG] PRETENDICA
SteamID: STEAM:0:0:17130959
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by PRETENDICA » January 6th, 2010, 2:03 pm

I'm just using the motherboard sound. It has 7.1 digital. All the colors of the rainbow back there for sound.

Everytime I switch it to 5.1 audio in tf2, it doesn't stay. Was 7.1 an option before? Because I have that option too. Is there a way to force it to output 5.1?


On a side note, even though it's capable, should I buy a sound card for my MB? It just seems like a waste of money if the MB can already do it just fine.
Image <---Thanks, Tahko!
User avatar
hulkvsspawn
Manager
Posts: 793
Joined: July 15th, 2009, 3:29 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG]hulkvsspawn
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:17449644
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Contact:

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by hulkvsspawn » January 6th, 2010, 2:52 pm

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000OYFPZ2
Shaun and I both had the same crappy fatality headphones. If those are supposed to be designed by him, he's a little man with small ears. I'm no Vulcan, but there's no chance in hell those fatality headphones were designed by anyone other than a dwarf.

I've worn Shaun's twice at lunch and they sound Great! But I gotta tell ya, I would choose my headphones for a 5 hour straight stretch of playing based on comfort.

To answer Pre's other question, having an external sound card has it's benefits. Mainly it'll lower his cpu load. But there's usually added benefits of having a wider frequency range as well.
"insert 2 capsules into vagina" <-- Mala
"centuries" <-- My dipshit brother
User avatar
Stephen
Founder
Posts: 1646
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 12:35 am
Ingame Name: [ATG] ﯖҭϵҏӊϵɳ
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:8566258

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by Stephen » January 6th, 2010, 5:08 pm

you might have to go to ur sound properties in you control panel and set windows to 5.1 for default, cause steam probably picks up its defaults from there.

and the headphones are only 5.1 so you wouldnt get the extra 2 channels working.

and onboard audio is fine but if you have the extra cash get an xfi sound card for awesome clarity
User avatar
RMRM
Donor
Posts: 8
Joined: December 3rd, 2009, 8:10 pm
Ingame Name: RM
SteamID: STEAM:0:1:10561153

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by RMRM » January 8th, 2010, 1:17 am

Should have gotten an audiophile grade headphone without that 5.1 sound stuff. Reasons are posted across the Internets but it's almost a guarantee that stereo headphones > 5.1 headsets in gaming, music and movies.
Sandvich and I are coming for you!
User avatar
Stephen
Founder
Posts: 1646
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 12:35 am
Ingame Name: [ATG] ﯖҭϵҏӊϵɳ
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:8566258

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by Stephen » January 8th, 2010, 10:53 am

not it my books, ive had 3 different pairs of 5.1 headphones and i try to use hifi stereo, and its so much easier to pick out where sounds are coming from

espiically now that im on 7.1 now its a much more depth to locations of sound.
User avatar
goat
Scout
Posts: 5
Joined: January 6th, 2010, 1:46 pm
Ingame Name: Goat
SteamID: STEAM:0:0:00000

Re: I got some new headphones

Post by goat » January 11th, 2010, 2:37 am

They're pretty sweet looking. I like all the padding and the extremely circular design of the ear pieces.

I used to have a pair of plantronics that worked really well. Now I have this one from Logitech: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AUq20Fk01Gk . It's extremely generic in my opinion but it works well.
I'm typing with my hooves
Post Reply