Some tips for building a computer

Got Problems or Advice post here. Want to show off your PC bling?
PC, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, Electronics.
Magus
Manager
Ingame Name: [ATG] Mäġůş
SteamID: STEAM_0:0:17489579

Some tips for building a computer

Post by Magus »

Well, now that it's looking almost positively like I'm getting my parts in the next few weeks leading up to christmas *here's my build * I thought I should ask you guys some questions seeing as it's my first build. A lot of times when you do projects like this, it's helpful to get advice from people to avoid some major headaches. There's things that people look back and say, Man if I only knew that I coulda saved myself a lot of hassle.

So what are some of those things?

How long should I expect the build to take?

Where are some sites I should go to for assembly help?

What should be the first thing I do?

What should be the first thing I do once I start the computer for the first time *before installing windows*?

Is there anything important I should do after I install windows?

Are there any small parts I should buy that would be helpful in the build?

Feel free to add your own
madmattd
Admin
Ingame Name: [ATG] madmattd
SteamID: STEAM_0:0:22659932

Re: Some tips for building a computer

Post by madmattd »

My usual process:

1. Install PSU in the case. Same with DVD and Hard Drives. Don't bother hooking up any cables yet. Install any needed motherboard standoffs. See where you need them by comparing the mobo to the case where it will sit, each hole needs a standoff. Also remove the factory IO panel and install the one that came with the mobo.

2. Ground yourself. Usually a wrist strap to the case bare metal (while it's plugged into the wall mind you) is how I go. Worst case, sit at a table, don't touch carpet, ground yourself, and don't wiggle/shuffle feet/etc. Occasionally re-ground yourself.