How to get/use Mumble

For everything else. Introductions say hello and introduce yourself, or got something to say about something or someone.
User avatar
Magus
Manager
Posts: 1003
Joined: August 12th, 2009, 9:44 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG] Mäġůş
SteamID: STEAM_0:0:17489579
Location: WI

How to get/use Mumble

Post by Magus » August 21st, 2010, 11:44 am

Some quick mumble FAQ's *by Magus*

Why the fuck would you use mumble?

You have much to learn! Mumble is widely used for it's lack of latency and voice clarity. In the competitive scene, ventrillo isn't utilized as much due it's latency issues. Mumble is also extreme easy to use when spliting/picking teams.

Now where the fuck am I supposed to get this bumble thing?


Don't fear! I'll provide you with links you lazy Rookie!
http://mumble.sourceforge.net/ <-------- Download the appropriate version for your operating system (windows for windows users, OSX for mac users, etc)


Great, I downloaded this random piece of software, and am completely ignorant as to how I am supposed to figure this damn humble out!


Big suprise: You downloaded something you didn't know how to use. Follow a couple easy steps and you'll have mumble working for YOU!

Step one: Install mumble. If you have issues with this, there's one easy solution: Throw your pc out the window. Then start over.

Step two: Launch mumble.

Step three: Set up your configuration before you join a server and deafen everyone with your breathing. Run the audio wizard located on the "Configure" tab. Now, most importantly:

Step four: Go to "configure" then select "settings". Now, on the bottom left, you'll see a box that says "Advanced". Select it. Now, make sure you have "Audio Input" selected. Look 1/3 of the way down and find "Trasmit". Click the drop down and select "Push to talk".

Step five: Select the "Shortcuts" tab in the settings interface. Now, click add. Set a key, then where it says "function", select "Push to talk"

Step six: Connect to the server! In this case, the server will be:

Servername: ATG
Address: addictiontogaming.com
Port: 64738
Name: *Your name*

There is no password to join our mumble, however some mumble servers may prompt you to do so.

Step seven: Now never fucking complain to Magus about mumble again.
Last edited by SanVich on February 27th, 2014, 1:21 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
hulkvsspawn
Manager
Posts: 793
Joined: July 15th, 2009, 3:29 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG]hulkvsspawn
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:17449644
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Contact:

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by hulkvsspawn » August 21st, 2010, 12:16 pm

partyinusa? lol
"insert 2 capsules into vagina" <-- Mala
"centuries" <-- My dipshit brother

User avatar
Killer
Admin
Posts: 629
Joined: November 15th, 2009, 11:21 pm
Ingame Name: Killer
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:13902581
Location: McHenry, Illinois

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by Killer » August 21st, 2010, 11:25 pm

hulkvsspawn wrote:partyinusa? lol
win, and i though we was using vent?
Killer.

User avatar
Avatar
Demoman
Posts: 165
Joined: November 3rd, 2009, 5:01 pm
Ingame Name: Avatar
SteamID: STEAM:0:1:11033851

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by Avatar » October 6th, 2010, 12:51 pm

mumble wont let me use the [nK] tag in my name :(
Image

User avatar
hulkvsspawn
Manager
Posts: 793
Joined: July 15th, 2009, 3:29 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG]hulkvsspawn
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:17449644
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Contact:

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by hulkvsspawn » October 6th, 2010, 7:41 pm

Avatar wrote:mumble wont let me use the [nK] tag in my name :(
I don't think any of us have tags in mumble.
"insert 2 capsules into vagina" <-- Mala
"centuries" <-- My dipshit brother

Das Forscher
Admin
Posts: 63
Joined: September 27th, 2009, 7:23 pm
Ingame Name: Das Forscher
SteamID: STEAM:0:0:10843303

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by Das Forscher » October 31st, 2010, 11:23 am

It just doesn't allow any characters other than alphanumeric and spaces I believe. Same goes for channel names etc, you can't put apostrophes in even.

I think there is some way to get it working if I recall correctly, but I never bothered before. If it's an issue I can always mess around and try to work it, if people are still using the server

Light Of Darkness
Heavy
Posts: 556
Joined: January 14th, 2010, 6:50 pm
Ingame Name: Light Of Darkness
SteamID: STEAM:0:0:00000

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by Light Of Darkness » November 22nd, 2010, 7:56 pm

Alt codes?

User avatar
SanVich
Manager
Posts: 1580
Joined: May 13th, 2010, 8:39 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG] SanVich
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:17755557
Location: WI

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by SanVich » March 6th, 2011, 5:48 pm

Hey I asked the other day of how to connect since I seem to be doing it wrong, but when I use "server > connect" I don't get anything like an "add server" option, but rather this is what I get when I click server > connect.

Image
All-talk is not for twitter updates. Microphones are not suppositories. Learn it.
Image

User avatar
madmattd
Admin
Posts: 780
Joined: October 9th, 2009, 7:00 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG] madmattd
SteamID: STEAM_0:0:22659932
Location: MA

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by madmattd » March 6th, 2011, 6:08 pm

"New".....that adds a server. But you seem to have it.
"Chinese Sentries - they're cheap, crappy, and have little lights on the top!" - Pretendica

User avatar
SanVich
Manager
Posts: 1580
Joined: May 13th, 2010, 8:39 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG] SanVich
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:17755557
Location: WI

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by SanVich » March 6th, 2011, 6:33 pm

madmattd wrote:"New".....that adds a server. But you seem to have it.
That's the thing though I get this error whenever I connect:

Code: Select all

Server connection failed: The remote host closed the connection
All-talk is not for twitter updates. Microphones are not suppositories. Learn it.
Image

User avatar
Tahko
Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: September 30th, 2009, 11:36 pm
Ingame Name: ᴅɢz! Hartmann
SteamID: STEAM:0:1:20888205

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by Tahko » March 6th, 2011, 9:18 pm

Yep, that's what I get too

User avatar
hulkvsspawn
Manager
Posts: 793
Joined: July 15th, 2009, 3:29 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG]hulkvsspawn
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:17449644
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Contact:

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by hulkvsspawn » March 9th, 2011, 7:40 pm

what's the password partyinusa doesn't let you in
"insert 2 capsules into vagina" <-- Mala
"centuries" <-- My dipshit brother

User avatar
Magus
Manager
Posts: 1003
Joined: August 12th, 2009, 9:44 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG] Mäġůş
SteamID: STEAM_0:0:17489579
Location: WI

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by Magus » March 10th, 2011, 8:29 pm

You guys are bad. At life.
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Tahko
Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: September 30th, 2009, 11:36 pm
Ingame Name: ᴅɢz! Hartmann
SteamID: STEAM:0:1:20888205

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by Tahko » March 10th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Mumble is bad.

User avatar
madmattd
Admin
Posts: 780
Joined: October 9th, 2009, 7:00 pm
Ingame Name: [ATG] madmattd
SteamID: STEAM_0:0:22659932
Location: MA

Re: How to get/use Mumble

Post by madmattd » March 11th, 2011, 12:44 pm

Mumble pwns Vent. Just a little trickier to configure. Mumble>>Vent>in-game voice. When I play with some of my RL friends we use a Vent instead of game chat. Even in games where it is just us vs comp or something (i.e. SC2). I'm thinking about putting a Mumble server up for us instead, I'm tired of the fail ubers due to Vent lag.
"Chinese Sentries - they're cheap, crappy, and have little lights on the top!" - Pretendica

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest